Media Release No: LAE/2025/71 2025.04.25

Local Authorities Election – MAY 06,2025

LEAVE TO ENABLE EMPLOYEES TO VOTE

Section 84(a) of the Local Authorities Elections Ordinance (Chapter 262) regarding the duty of employers to grant leave to employees to vote, is reproduced below for information of Employers and Employees.

- "84A (1) Any person, being the employer of any other person who is entitled to vote at any election under this Ordinance shall, upon application in writing in that behalf made by such other person, grant such other person, leave, without loss of pay, for such continuous period (not less than two hours in duration) as that person may deem sufficient to enable such other person to vote at that election.
- (2) any person who contrives or fails to comply with the provisions of sub-section (1) shall be guilty of an offence and shall, on conviction after summary trial before a Magistrate, be liable to a fine not exceeding five hundred rupees, or to imprisonment of either description for a term not exceeding one month or to both such fine and imprisonment."
- 02. In terms of the provisions of the above Section every employee who applies for leave in writing to cast his vote should be given leave. The period of leave so granted should be treated as special leave without loss of pay and also outside the normal entitlement of leave. These provisions are applicable to casual and temporary employees as well.
- 03. The employers should be decided on the maximum duration having taken into consideration, the distance between the place of work and the polling station and also the time taken to travel such distance. Since there have been several complaints from the employees at previous elections regarding the problems in obtaining the leave stipulated by the law, all employers in the Public and Private Sector are kindly requested to comply with the legal requirement at this poll.
- 04. The poll will take place on Tuesday the 06th May, 2025 from 7.00 a.m. to 4.00 p.m.
- 05. The co-operation of all the employers in this connection will be highly appreciated.

Saman Sri Rathnayake

Commissioner General of Elections













