LAE\2023\ 54 2023.07.05

Assumption of Duties of the New Chairman and Members of the Election Commission

The following gentlemen have been appointed as members of the Election Commission based on the recommendation of the Constitutional Council by His Excellency the President, in accordance with Article 41A and Article 103(1) of the Constitution.

- Mr. R.M.A.L. Ratnayake, a retired senior public officer who served in the Election Commission from 1986 to 2018 and retired while holding the post of Commissioner General of Elections, has been appointed as the Chairman of the Election Commission.
- Mr. M.A.P.C. Perera, a retired senior officer of the Sri Lanka Administrative Service who also served his full period of service in the Department of Elections and in the Election Commission from 1986 to 2018 and retired while holding the post of Commissioner General of Elections, has been appointed as a new Member of the Election Commission.
- Mr. Ameer Mohammed Faaiz, a senior lawyer and civil activist, has been appointed as a new Member of the Election Commission.

The Election Commission announces that the newly appointed aforementioned Members, including the Chairman, assumed their duties on July 5, 2023.

Saman Sri Ratnayake

Commissioner General of Elections